Thursday, October 16, 2014

Lady Wicked by Delle Jacobs


3 Stars

I have read quite a few Delle Jacobs books.  It has been a while so I can’t remember if the rest of them felt so drawn out.  I really loved the character development.  I loved the turn of events at the ending, but I felt like a lot of the middle could have been left out or summarized better.  The parts with Chester were probably the most frustrating.  I think the author was trying to get across the fear in Lady Wychham as a result of her abuse, but it didn’t come across the pages. 

Lady Wyckham has been cast aside by her husband (whom it is immediately clear, is not likeable).  She is actually cast aside in a village that is basically run by Lord Savoury who is her nemesis.  Everyone in the villiage (including Lord Savoury) thinks that Lady Wyckham was caught in an affair and that is why she was cast aside.  Davina (Lady Wyckham) is just glad to be on her own.  She plans to grow her own herbs to sell and make a living.  The rest of the story follows the relationship between Savoury and Davina and how the villagers change their opinion about her.  There is a nice twist at the end, but in my opinion it took too long to get there. 

Deacon by Kristen Ashley (Unfinished Heroes #4)


3 Stars
I have typically not enjoyed this series as much as this authors other works.  I am finding with her most recent writings that not a lot is happening.  Part of what I loved about her usual work was that we meet these great characters and we watch their relationships blossom, usually under duress, but BIG things happen along the way.  I loved the bombings, kidnappings, and murder attempts found in the Rock Chick Series and the Fantastical Series and the Three Series and the early ‘Burg Series and Colorado Mountain Man Series.  I loved all the books that took place in England.  The Three Wishes is one of my favorite books! 

I’m just not sure how much more of these new books I want to keep reading.  I can’t wait for the finale of the Three Series so I am crossing my fingers that it is as wonderful as the rest of those books.
Deacon is the hero (or anti-hero) of this book.  Apparently he is from the Colorado Mountain Man series but he is not at all the man that was portrayed during those books.  I would not have thought he would even warrant his own book.  I kept trying to make sense of this new side of Deacon.  We pretty much saw him only quietly sitting in the bar prior to this.  Anyway, he comes to Cassidy’s cabins repeatedly for six years.  He gives her no signs or encouragement but Cassidy still puts herself out there for him (although rather vaguely) and Deacon shuts her down.  But he keeps coming back.  Eventually something happens that means Deacon has to step into the situation.  Obviously we know it is a KA story so I am not giving anything away by letting people know that Deacon and Cassidy get involved.   And being part of this series we know that Deacon will have some baggage.  This baggage has kept him from making any meaningful relationships for a very long time and he is resistant to changing this. 

I just wished something else happened…anything of a bit of action. 

The Lion's Lady by Julie Garwood


3.5 Stars

This was the first book I read in this series. I have read her other highlander books which I thoroughly enjoyed. The book starts by giving us the background on Christina. She is raised by American Indians. This is done mostly so we can understand how she was raised but it also gives us good insight into her feelings as they come out. When Christina travels to London she meets the Marquis of Lyonwood who immediately intrigues her because she can relate him to the warriors that she would have known growing up.

There was an interesting story line in the novel but there was too much back and forth. Christina was drawn to the Marquis but she must resist, now she has given in but she must keep her heart safe, ok she has lost her heart but she must still abandon him. The same happened with the Marquis but not to the same degree.

I think at some point I would read the next book. The synopsis sounds interesting.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Romancing the Dukes: Castles Ever After by Tessa Dare


3.5 Stars

I positively LOVE Tessa Dare, but this was not my favorite of her books.  It was still above average and I look forward to the next book in the series.  In fact, I have pre-ordered it.  I think one of my least favorite aspects of it is that the main character, Izzy is constantly referring to how unattractive she is.  It matters very little to the hero (Ransome, the Duke of Rothbury), but nevertheless, firstly I prefer my heroines to be pretty.  I don’t want to read a romance book about someone unattractive.  I have enough of dealing with real life, I read for the adventure, for the escape. Everyone likes a main character they can identify with and I personally don’t WANT to identify with someone who is ugly.  I liked the rest of the character development. 

I absolutely loved that Izzy’s father had created this cult of followers of his writings that were quite fantastical.  I loved the nerdiness of this group of people.  It was quite endearing.

Izzy receives a letter from a man that claims that she has been left a castle.  Only upon arriving she finds the castle is being lived in and it is derelict.  What ensures is a quite amusing tale of the current resident of the castle (the Duke) trying to oust Izzy and Izzy being certain she is the rightful owner. 

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

It's time for a cover reveal!  Feast your eyes on the cover for HUNTING IN BRUGES, the debut novel in the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series by E.J. Stevens.




Keep reading for a chance to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card!









Hunting in Bruges (Hunters' Guild #1) by E.J. Stevens.



The only thing worse than being a Hunter in the fae-ridden city of Harborsmouth, is hunting vamps in Bruges.



Being shipped off to Belgium sucks. The medieval city of Bruges is

quaint, but the local Hunters' Guild is understaffed, the canals are

choked with dead bodies, and there's no shortage of supernatural

predators as likely suspects.



On second thought, maybe Bruges isn't so bad after all.



With a desire to prove herself, protect the innocent, and advance within

the ranks of the Hunters' Guild, Jenna Lehane hits the cobbled streets

of Bruges with blades at the ready. Someone, or something, is murdering

tourists and dumping their bodies in the city's scenic canals.  With the

help of a mysterious stranger, Jenna begins to piece together clues

that are dotted throughout the city like blood spatter.



Determined to stop the killings, Jenna delves into a bloody local

history that only raises more questions--but some secrets are best left

buried. Jenna must put her combat training to the test as she struggles

to unearth the truth about an ancient enemy.



Hunting in Bruges is the first novel in the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series set in the world of Ivy Granger.



Release Date:  November 11, 2014

Genre:  Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Pre-order on Amazon.

Add to Goodreads.





About the Hunters' Guild Series



The Hunters' Guild series is an urban fantasy series written by E.J. Stevens and set in the world of Ivy Granger.  The series is told in the first-person point-of-view of Jenna Lehane, a Hunter with a troubled past, a proficiency with weapons, and an intolerance for monsters who target the innocent.





About the Author



E.J. Stevens is the author of the Spirit Guide young adult series, the bestselling Ivy Granger urban fantasy series, and the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series.  When E.J. isn't at her writing desk she enjoys dancing along seaside cliffs, singing in graveyards, and sleeping in faerie circles.  E.J. currently resides in a magical forest on the coast of Maine where she finds daily inspiration for her writing.





Hunting in Bruges Cover Reveal Giveaway



The author is giving away a $25 Amazon Gift Card to one lucky winner!



To enter, use the Rafflecopter form below.  This giveaway is INTERNATIONAL.  Giveaway ends October 7, 2014.



a Rafflecopter giveaway







What do you think of the cover?



Monday, September 22, 2014

Cover Reveal: Hunting in Bruges

Hunting in Bruges (Hunters' Guild #1) by E.J. Stevens


The only thing worse than being a Hunter in the fae-ridden city of Harborsmouth, is hunting vamps in Bruges.

Being shipped off to Belgium sucks. The medieval city of Bruges is quaint, but the local Hunters' Guild is understaffed, the canals are choked with dead bodies, and there's no shortage of supernatural predators as likely suspects.

On second thought, maybe Bruges isn't so bad after all.

With a desire to prove herself, protect the innocent, and advance within the ranks of the Hunters' Guild, Jenna Lehane hits the cobbled streets of Bruges with blades at the ready. Someone, or something, is murdering tourists and dumping their bodies in the city's scenic canals.  With the help of a mysterious stranger, Jenna begins to piece together clues that are dotted throughout the city like blood spatter.

Determined to stop the killings, Jenna delves into a bloody local history that only raises more questions--but some secrets are best left buried. Jenna must put her combat training to the test as she struggles to unearth the truth about an ancient enemy.

Hunting in Bruges is the first novel in the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series set in the world of Ivy Granger.
Release Date: November 11, 2014
Genre: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Pre-order on Amazon.
Add to Goodreads.


About the Hunters' Guild Series


The Hunters' Guild series is an urban fantasy series written by E.J. Stevens and set in the world of Ivy Granger.  The series is told in the first-person point-of-view of Jenna Lehane, a Hunter with a troubled past, a proficiency with weapons, and an intolerance for monsters who target the innocent.
About the Author


E.J. Stevens is the author of the Spirit Guide young adult series and the bestselling Ivy Granger urban fantasy series. When E.J. isn't at her writing desk she enjoys dancing along seaside cliffs, singing in graveyards, and sleeping in faerie circles. E.J. currently resides in a magical forest on the coast of Maine where she finds daily inspiration for her writing.

Connect with E.J. on Twitter, Goodreads, Amazon, Pinterest, and on her Blog.

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Wounded by Shannon Mayer (Rylee Adamson #8)



Another 5 stars for Shannon Mayer:

Often series will go so far off track by the eighth book that I lose interest.  Not once has this author strayed from the original feel of the series.  I love these characters and it is not often that books or movies move me to tears, but I was crying at the end of this one. 

The storyline moves along.  Orion wants Rylee dead.  There are four packs of demons that are the precursor to the four demons that are akin to the four horsemen of the apocalypse.  These packs are either already here or are coming very soon.  Of course Rylee doesn’t get a break.  The story picks up at Doran’s where all of Rylee’s allies are meeting together.  Again, of course, this doesn’t go smoothly.  (I say “again” and “of course” simply because Murphy’s Law applies to Rylee.  If something can go wrong, it will and she is always jumping from one emergency to another).  I think this is all I can say of the plot without giving away spoilers.  I happen to LOVE spoilers and specifically troll the reviews hoping to find them, but people get very aggressive about them so I refrain :)

We have known for a while that Liam will die.  Liam has known for a while that he will die and it seems that others are starting to pick up on this as well.  Everyone except Rylee.  She is at a point where she feels she will break if she loses one more person close to her.  That she will no longer care about the fate of the world she is fighting to save.  Every time we turn around Liam is getting hurt and as a reader you hold your breath each time wondering if this is it.  I have maintained throughout the entire series that if either Liam or Alex is killed I am not sure how I will feel about this series.

Alex is becoming more dominant and at one point some character (perhaps Rylee) says that he will remember how to shift again soon.  Alex has been my very favorite character since the beginning.  Even over Rylee (which is probably against the rules).  He is sweet, loyal and very funny.  He doesn’t do anything that make him hard to love.  There is a part in this book where Alex just being sad made me cry, that is how much I love him.  I can’t even handle him being sad!
 
I HATE waiting for the next book in a series.  It is always wonderful to find an amazing series like this when it is at this stage and you can just read one book right after another.  These books are wonderful and I find myself thinking about the characters long after I have stopped reading.  Signs of a book addict if I think the characters in the books are my friends?