Wednesday, September 24, 2014

It's time for a cover reveal!  Feast your eyes on the cover for HUNTING IN BRUGES, the debut novel in the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series by E.J. Stevens.




Keep reading for a chance to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card!









Hunting in Bruges (Hunters' Guild #1) by E.J. Stevens.



The only thing worse than being a Hunter in the fae-ridden city of Harborsmouth, is hunting vamps in Bruges.



Being shipped off to Belgium sucks. The medieval city of Bruges is

quaint, but the local Hunters' Guild is understaffed, the canals are

choked with dead bodies, and there's no shortage of supernatural

predators as likely suspects.



On second thought, maybe Bruges isn't so bad after all.



With a desire to prove herself, protect the innocent, and advance within

the ranks of the Hunters' Guild, Jenna Lehane hits the cobbled streets

of Bruges with blades at the ready. Someone, or something, is murdering

tourists and dumping their bodies in the city's scenic canals.  With the

help of a mysterious stranger, Jenna begins to piece together clues

that are dotted throughout the city like blood spatter.



Determined to stop the killings, Jenna delves into a bloody local

history that only raises more questions--but some secrets are best left

buried. Jenna must put her combat training to the test as she struggles

to unearth the truth about an ancient enemy.



Hunting in Bruges is the first novel in the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series set in the world of Ivy Granger.



Release Date:  November 11, 2014

Genre:  Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Pre-order on Amazon.

Add to Goodreads.





About the Hunters' Guild Series



The Hunters' Guild series is an urban fantasy series written by E.J. Stevens and set in the world of Ivy Granger.  The series is told in the first-person point-of-view of Jenna Lehane, a Hunter with a troubled past, a proficiency with weapons, and an intolerance for monsters who target the innocent.





About the Author



E.J. Stevens is the author of the Spirit Guide young adult series, the bestselling Ivy Granger urban fantasy series, and the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series.  When E.J. isn't at her writing desk she enjoys dancing along seaside cliffs, singing in graveyards, and sleeping in faerie circles.  E.J. currently resides in a magical forest on the coast of Maine where she finds daily inspiration for her writing.





Hunting in Bruges Cover Reveal Giveaway



The author is giving away a $25 Amazon Gift Card to one lucky winner!



To enter, use the Rafflecopter form below.  This giveaway is INTERNATIONAL.  Giveaway ends October 7, 2014.



a Rafflecopter giveaway







What do you think of the cover?



Monday, September 22, 2014

Cover Reveal: Hunting in Bruges

Hunting in Bruges (Hunters' Guild #1) by E.J. Stevens


The only thing worse than being a Hunter in the fae-ridden city of Harborsmouth, is hunting vamps in Bruges.

Being shipped off to Belgium sucks. The medieval city of Bruges is quaint, but the local Hunters' Guild is understaffed, the canals are choked with dead bodies, and there's no shortage of supernatural predators as likely suspects.

On second thought, maybe Bruges isn't so bad after all.

With a desire to prove herself, protect the innocent, and advance within the ranks of the Hunters' Guild, Jenna Lehane hits the cobbled streets of Bruges with blades at the ready. Someone, or something, is murdering tourists and dumping their bodies in the city's scenic canals.  With the help of a mysterious stranger, Jenna begins to piece together clues that are dotted throughout the city like blood spatter.

Determined to stop the killings, Jenna delves into a bloody local history that only raises more questions--but some secrets are best left buried. Jenna must put her combat training to the test as she struggles to unearth the truth about an ancient enemy.

Hunting in Bruges is the first novel in the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series set in the world of Ivy Granger.
Release Date: November 11, 2014
Genre: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Pre-order on Amazon.
Add to Goodreads.


About the Hunters' Guild Series


The Hunters' Guild series is an urban fantasy series written by E.J. Stevens and set in the world of Ivy Granger.  The series is told in the first-person point-of-view of Jenna Lehane, a Hunter with a troubled past, a proficiency with weapons, and an intolerance for monsters who target the innocent.
About the Author


E.J. Stevens is the author of the Spirit Guide young adult series and the bestselling Ivy Granger urban fantasy series. When E.J. isn't at her writing desk she enjoys dancing along seaside cliffs, singing in graveyards, and sleeping in faerie circles. E.J. currently resides in a magical forest on the coast of Maine where she finds daily inspiration for her writing.

Connect with E.J. on Twitter, Goodreads, Amazon, Pinterest, and on her Blog.

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Wounded by Shannon Mayer (Rylee Adamson #8)



Another 5 stars for Shannon Mayer:

Often series will go so far off track by the eighth book that I lose interest.  Not once has this author strayed from the original feel of the series.  I love these characters and it is not often that books or movies move me to tears, but I was crying at the end of this one. 

The storyline moves along.  Orion wants Rylee dead.  There are four packs of demons that are the precursor to the four demons that are akin to the four horsemen of the apocalypse.  These packs are either already here or are coming very soon.  Of course Rylee doesn’t get a break.  The story picks up at Doran’s where all of Rylee’s allies are meeting together.  Again, of course, this doesn’t go smoothly.  (I say “again” and “of course” simply because Murphy’s Law applies to Rylee.  If something can go wrong, it will and she is always jumping from one emergency to another).  I think this is all I can say of the plot without giving away spoilers.  I happen to LOVE spoilers and specifically troll the reviews hoping to find them, but people get very aggressive about them so I refrain :)

We have known for a while that Liam will die.  Liam has known for a while that he will die and it seems that others are starting to pick up on this as well.  Everyone except Rylee.  She is at a point where she feels she will break if she loses one more person close to her.  That she will no longer care about the fate of the world she is fighting to save.  Every time we turn around Liam is getting hurt and as a reader you hold your breath each time wondering if this is it.  I have maintained throughout the entire series that if either Liam or Alex is killed I am not sure how I will feel about this series.

Alex is becoming more dominant and at one point some character (perhaps Rylee) says that he will remember how to shift again soon.  Alex has been my very favorite character since the beginning.  Even over Rylee (which is probably against the rules).  He is sweet, loyal and very funny.  He doesn’t do anything that make him hard to love.  There is a part in this book where Alex just being sad made me cry, that is how much I love him.  I can’t even handle him being sad!
 
I HATE waiting for the next book in a series.  It is always wonderful to find an amazing series like this when it is at this stage and you can just read one book right after another.  These books are wonderful and I find myself thinking about the characters long after I have stopped reading.  Signs of a book addict if I think the characters in the books are my friends?  

Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones (Charley Davidson #6)



5 Big Fat Stars for Charley Davidson!


Somehow this book snuck out without me knowing it.  It was released in May and I just know discovered it.  Very sad for me, except maybe it will make the wait between this book and the next seem smaller.  Doubtful though.  I am glad I started reading this series when there were already four books out.  I despise waiting for books. 


This book takes up very soon after the last one finishes.  Charley’s dad is acting funny.  He has decided to leave his wife (whose name escapes me right now).  Charley isn't exactly broken up about it since this same woman was beyond hateful to her for her entire life.  Reyes asked Charley to marry him at the end of the last book and we await her answer in this one.  Cookie is still after Uncle Bob who hasn’t made a move yet.  They come up with a plot to guarantee him kicking into gear and asking Cookie out.  I am sure you can guess how this turns out.  A man comes in seeking Charley’s help retrieving his soul (which he sold) to a demon.  We meet said demon who actually is playing a rather interesting part in this book.  We find out a little bit more about Angel and Mr. Wong.  Mr. Wong apparently is more than what he appears.  Very intriguing. 



So that is the book in a nutshell.  Anything more and it would have spoilers in it.  I can’t wait to find out more about what Charley can really do and Reyes role in all of this.  It seems like it is starting to come to a climax.  Goo! I can’t even handle it.  It is funny as  all these books are.  

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews (Kate Daniels #7)


5 (plus 5 more) Stars
 
I love, love, love anything these two put out!  They are my number one favorite authors!  (I also love Patricia Briggs, Jeaniene Frost, Karen Marie Moning, Darynda Jones, but Ilona Andrews is the best!).  I seriously love anything and everything they do.  This is number 7 in the series and I think there are at least 3 more. 

So much happened in this book!  We pick up a couple months after the last book where Kate and Curran traveled to the Black Sea with the promise of Panacea.  What they really encounter is Hugh (Kate’s father’s warlord) who has set up a test/trap for Kate and the shifters.  He wants Kate.  He wants the shifters (and most specifically Curran) out of the way.  After that whole debacle, Kate and Curran are in an uneasy state of watchful waiting back in Atlanta.  They hope that Roland (Kate’s father) doesn’t know she is in Atlanta, but they don’t know anything for sure. 

Curran goes to North Carolina to meet with some shifters about something or other.  How convenient.  Kate is in charge and has a meeting with The People.  Do you think this goes smoothly?  No way Jose!  She has got big problems on her hands and Curran is MIA.  Kate is of course racing against time, fatigue, pain, and a multitude of terrible things.  Hugh makes another appearance.  He is very unlikeable but at the same time I think I secretly like him (not as much as Curran obviously).  It isn’t a villain-you-love-to-hate scenario.  I enjoy his involvement in the storyline and his interactions with Kate.  I love that although the shifters and The People crap on Kate he finds this offensive.  Don’t worry, I am still all for Curran. 

So much happens in this book.  It is like the whole series culminated to this moment.  But there are still 3 more books so we have 3 more wonderful moments in the climax of this storyline.  I think I might have to re-read all these books in preparation for the next release. 

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Jagged by Kristen Ashley (Colorado Mountain Man #5)


2.5-3 Stars

I think this might be my least favorite KA book of all time.  I didn’t connect with any of the main characters and I don’t feel like the storyline that we left off with in “Breathe” was in any way connected.  The only redeeming quality that I found was that someone (the heroine) who had been crapped on her whole life got retribution and a happy ending.

Zara Cinders is the heroine and she comes from a family where her father verbally and physically abused her, her sister and her mother her whole life.  Her mother is a broken women who couldn’t save herself or her children and for this Zara cannot forgive her.  The hero is Graham Reece whom we meet in the The ‘Burg book #1 “For You”.  However, Zara does not call Graham either Graham or Reece.  Either would have been acceptable.  No…she calls him Ham.  Yuck! And do you know what he calls her?  Cookie!  Terrible, terrible names.  KA usually does a fabulous job in picking out both names and nicknames for her characters, but she missed the mark with these two. 

So Ham comes and goes as he pleases and he has women in all the many cities that he goes to.  The women know they aren’t exclusive (except when he is with them) and this is how he functions.  This is how we met him in “For You”.  However when Zara when Ham comes around again she has found a guy who will give her more and he walks away.  Of course, this can’t last.  We know this.  Her husband isn’t a bad guy but he isn’t Ham (yuck!) so it is doomed to fail.  When next Ham comes to town he finds Zara is even more broken than she was before (and that is saying a lot).  They do not have good times and bad things are said.  Beyond the story of Ham and Cookie (I think I just threw up in my mouth) the storyline revolves around a lot of drama and secrets in Zara’s family and these get resolved.  

Broken Dove by Kristen Ashley (Fantasyland #4)


4 Stars

I had really been looking forward to hearing about Apollo and Ilsa.  It sounded heartbreaking and nobody writes heartbreaking better than KA.  The beginning was wonderful and the end was wonderful.  I stopped reading in the middle because it got a little “blah”.  I just recently decided to give it another try and I am super glad that I did.  I feel like the storyline has a resolution, but Noc (Prince Tor’s this world version) is going to get his own story (I am worried Franka is the heroine and she is NOT likeable).  This one takes place in our world so I am not sure if a new storyline will begin with his story.

Apollo’s Ilsa died five-ish years ago and he has paid Valentine a whole lot of diamonds to get the Ilsa of this world to him.  He wants to replace his dead wife.  Oh boy.  He brings her to his world and immediately decided this was a bad idea.  She is not his dead wife, Isla but she looks exactly like her so his pain is immense.  He abandons her almost immediately at one of his estates with his men.  The problem is the Apollo of our world is a bad, bad man.  Ilsa had been running from him for years and had just found her when good Apollo brought her here.  Thus, she can’t go back. 

Of course, the reader knows that it is only a matter of time before Apollo finds that he loves this Ilsa and of course it happens.  This is where I lost interest.  However, not long after this the action picks up with the bad guys from the previous books starting a war.  Ilsa gets to know Circe, Finnie and Cora (I had to go back and read Finnie’s story after finishing this book!).  What I didn’t like about Ilsa (or as she is known in this world, Maddie) is that she is not nearly as sassy as the other women.  She doesn’t stand up to Apollo and is always apologizing.  However, I think this goes with a character who has been terrorized mentally, verbally, emotionally and physically by a bad man for years and then being on the run for years.  I never got a good picture of what she looked like in my head and in fact I feel like I knew Apollo better in his appearances in the other books than in this book. 

I had a hard time thinking that Apollo loving a dead Ilsa and then meeting the living one was a good plot idea.  Too much baggage for him to move past this. In short I am glad I finished for this completion of the story line, but not for the story between Apollo and Ilsa.